13 Reasons Why, the forthcoming Selena Gomez co-executive produced Netflix series based on the 2007 YA novel of the same name (out this Friday, March 31), is set to be a heavy affair, revolving around themes of bullying, shaming and teenage suicide.

Considering the Revival singer's recent efforts to empower young girls following a withdrawal from the spotlight last year due to depression and anxiety, the topic evidently hits close to home.

For the show's soundtrack, Selena contributed two new songs: an atmospheric, gentle cover of Yazoo's 1982 debut single "Only You," and an acoustic rendition of Revival self-empowerment anthem "Kill Em With Kindness." Both tracks are, appropriately, solemn.

The new version of "Kindness" is especially touching, highlighting both the beauty of the track and Selena's breathy, featherlight voice once the original's club-friendly production is replaced with a gentle piano melody.

As with "The Heart Wants What It Wants," a vulnerable Selena Gomez makes for the most compelling listen.

Other highlights from the soundtrack include a new track by one of this year's most promising up-and-comers Billie Eilish ("Bored"), Sir Sly and The Japanese House, as well as '80s classics like Joy Division's "Love Will Tear Us Apart." Read the show synopsis, and listen to the full soundtrack below, as well as the Yazoo original.

Based on the best-selling books by Jay Asher, 13 Reasons Why follows teenager Clay Jensen (Dylan Minnette) as he returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker (Katherine Langford)—his classmate and crush—who tragically died from suicide two weeks earlier. On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, 13 Reasons Why weaves an intricate and heart wrenching story of teenage life that will deeply affect viewers.

Selena Gomez Through the Years:

More From 107.3 KFFM