Sometimes we feel off, struggling to find the right words to communicate our feelings. There are many reasons, outside and internally that lead us to this imbalance but before searching for outside sources. When was the last time you took a look at your chakras, making sure that you're aligned?

107.3 KFFM logo
Get our free mobile app

You can't help anyone else if you're not taking care of yourself first.

What is a Chakra? 

According to

Chakras refer to various energy centers in your body that correspond to specific nerve bundles and internal organs. The seven major chakras run from the base of your spine to the top of your head. If these energy centers get blocked, you may experience physical or emotional symptoms related to a particular chakra.

See how learning when your chakras are open or blocked can be important?

The Seven Chakras

Root Chakra - Red in the pelvic area at the base of the spine. This chakra deals with physical identity, stability, and grounding

Sacral Chakra - Orange in color this chakra is just below the belly button and covers sexuality, pleasure, and creativity

Solar Plexus Chakra - Yellow and located in the upper abdomen, the stomach area. This chakra stands for self-esteem and confidence

Heart Chakra - Green colored and right in the center of the chest called the heart center in most yoga practices. This is where your love and compassion flow

Throat Chakra - Blue in color and covers communication

Third Eye Chakra - Indigo-colored and located between the eyes in the middle of the forehead, it covers intuition and imagination

Crown Chakra - White/Violet, think of opal with all the colors of the rainbow residing here. It is located at the top of the head and releases your awareness and intelligence

We're going to be picking a chakra a day to focus on through the week so I asked Azalea, a local mobile yoga instructor, where the best spot to start is and she decided

Mondays We Focus on The Root Chakra

It's time to invite foods and yoga poses, mantras, and more to create a safe space to work on grounding ourselves

Red Foods to Activate Your Root Chakra

  • Beets
  • Strawberries
  • Cherries
  • Cranberries
  • Tomatoes
  • Raspberries
  • Watermelon
  • Grapefruit
  • Blood-Red Orange
  • Red Bell Pepper
  • Pomegranate
  • Radish
  • Red Cabbage
  • Red Chili Pepper
  • Radicchio
  • Red Leaf Lettuce
  • Rhubarb
  • Red Onion
  • Red Potatoe
  • Blood Sausage

You can make salads, pasta, desserts, drinks, and snacks featuring red items cooked and eaten with intention. Focus on grounding yourself, becoming more balanced with every bite! The mind is super powerful, it starts with your home, your body from the inside out.

Stretching and deep breathing through yoga will help you stay grounded, the moves will help your blood flow, and makes things smoother. Your leg muscles and your joints are all in the lower body so when you are stretching them you are activating your root chakra. It takes some practice so give it a couple of tries if you have never done this before. 60 seconds, 6 deep breathes, in the through the mouth and out through the nose is where it starts, and before long that will just be too short and you'll want to add more to your practice.

The Mudra

An attitude that comes into the palms and helps activate your pose, you are being intentional in how you offer your hands, there is actionality to it. It's how you offer your hands into the World. The action word is I AM. The element is Earth, we're grounding. It brings safety, security, and belonging.

Sarah Johnson
Sarah Johnson

I Am Grounded

I Am Rooted

I Am Anchored

I Am Strong

I Am Healthy

I Am Secure

The Action for The Root Chakra is bringing your thumb and pointer finger together, palm up on the knees arms straight while you are seated on the floor with legs crossed or in a chair. Whatever is most comfortable for you. Take deep breaths in through the nose and out through the mouth with eyes closed.

How Would You Know When Your Root Chakra is Out of Balance?

Low energy, scattered chaos, disconnected in your mind, anxiety increases, your fears are coming to the forefront of your brain and are the motivation of your behavior instead of feeling secure. Resentment manifests from the root chakra, if there is random rage where you normally are calm, be aware of that. Where is that coming from? Are these feelings warranted or could it be you are out of alignment?

What Would Be Happening If Your Root Chakra is Completely Balanced?

We can easily take care of our basic needs first before going out and helping others in the community; food, water, shelter, and security. The resentment eases off because we've got self-esteem, we know who we are. We feel vital, energized, and full of strength and stamina. You feel loved and accepted.

 The Full Break-Down of The Root Chakra with Sarah J and Azalea

The Root Chakra

KEEP READING: See 25 natural ways to boost your immune system

Goosebumps and other bodily reactions, explained

LOOK: 30 fascinating facts about sleep in the animal kingdom



More From 107.3 KFFM